Welcome and thank you for helping peers improve their lives. Below you will find news and resources for Support Group Facilitators.

News

DBSA support groups were named “Best Specialized Support Groups” by Healthline and “Best Overall” by PsychCentral

The DBSA DEI Toolkit made possible through the support of the Alkermes Inspiration Grant

DBSA’s DEI Toolkit consists of the following:

March 21, 2022 Presentation Slides

DBSA’s DEI Toolkit

Training Information

Whether you are a new or an experienced DBSA facilitator, raise your facilitation skills up to the next level by attending one of DBSA’s free, interactive Virtual Facilitator Training opportunities. Please note that these training sessions are intended for peers who are working with a DBSA chapter or DBSA support group.

Please note: Confirmation emails, pre-read materials, and Zoom link information will come from Smartsheet’s. Please save Smartsheet Automation automation@app.smartsheet.com as a contact so you do not miss out on important training emails.

Basic Support Group Facilitator Training

Taught by experienced support group facilitators, this 8-hour introductory training class includes 2 to 3 separate sessions featuring lecture, question and answer segments and mock facilitator practice. Participants must attend all sessions of this training to receive a certificate of participation. To attend, you must be endorsed or referred by one of your chapter leaders.

Once registered, you will recieve one of two emails from Smartsheet Automation automation@app.smartsheet.com. If you are confirmed for registration, you will get a confirmation email. If you are waitlisted, you will receive an email letting you know. Please check your spam if you are not seeing your email.

For those who receive a confirmation email, we will reach out two weeks prior to the training date to have you reconfirm your attendance. If you do not confirm by the deadline, your spot will be released to someone on the waitlist.

Lastly, one week prior to the training we will send the Zoom link, pre-read materials, and information on who to contact if you are having issues signing on the day of the training. Please email chapters@dbsalliance.org if you have any questions about the registration process.

May 9th & 10th from 2:30-6:30 PM PT | 3:30-7:30 PM MT | 4:30-8:30 PM CT | 5:30-9:30 PM ET

July 10th & 11th from 10-2 PM PT | 11-3 PM MT | 12-4 PM CT | 1-5 PM ET

To register, click here.

Facilitator Think Tanks

Bring a question or topic for discussion at a one-hour Think Tank with other DBSA support group facilitators or join in and share your thoughts on other peoples’ topics & questions!

July 11th at 11 AM PT |12 PM MT | 1PM CT| 2 PM ET
September 12th at 11 AM PT |12 PM MT | 1PM CT| 2 PM ET

To register, click here.

Next Level Thinking Sessions

Third Quarter Next Level Thinking TBA
Fourth Quarter Next Level Thinking TBA

 

 

Resources

Training Resources

We suggest that DBSA Support Group facilitators be familiar with and follow the DBSA Support Group model as outlined in the DBSA Support Group Facilitation Guide.

Meeting Resources

Welcoming New Participants

A welcome kit can be an important tool for your support group. It provides information about your group to new peers and also carefully explains what a peer can expect from a support group meeting. Starting a relationship with a strong welcome can increase support group participation and retention. The following are templates and samples that you may wish to include in your support group’s welcome kit:

Preparing for Challenges

Community Outreach

DBSA support groups may choose to perform community outreach by offering educational programming, focusing on specific communities within the local community. The following are resources support groups may use to help in outreach and member recruitment activities: