The Gerald L. Klerman Award is the highest honor that DBSA gives to members of the scientific community. Presented each year, this award recognizes researchers whose work advances knowledge of the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of depression and bipolar disorder. Awards are given annually in each of the following two categories: DBSA Gerald L. Klerman Award, Senior Investigator, and DBSA Gerald L. Klerman Award, Young Investigator. Learn more about Gerald L. Klerman.

Dr. Melissa DelBello | 2023 Senior Investigator Award

Dr. Melissa DelBello is a Professor of Psychiatry and Pediatrics and Dr. Stanley and Mickey Kaplan Chair of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine (UCCOM). Dr. DelBello received her medical degree from the University of Rochester and completed her psychiatry residencies at the UCCOM and Payne Whitney Psychiatric Clinic of the New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center. Dr. DelBello completed a fellowship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center and obtained a master’s degree in Epidemiology and Biostatistics from UCCOM. Dr. DelBello has co-authored over 300 articles and has served as principal or co-investigator of several NIH, PCORI, foundation, and pharmaceutical research grants.


Dr. Diego Pizzagalli | 2023 Senior Investigator Award

Dr. Pizzagalli received his M.A. (1995) and Ph.D. (1998) from the University of Zurich, Switzerland, and did post-doctoral work at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. From 2002-2010 he was a faculty member in the Department of Psychology at Harvard University, where he served as the John and Ruth Hazel Associate Professor of the Social Sciences. In 2010, he was recruited to McLean Hospital to serve as the Founding Director of the newly established Center for Depression, Anxiety, and Stress Research (CDASR), as well as the Director of the McLean Imaging Center (MIC). Since September 2015, Dr. Pizzagalli also serves as the Director of Research for the Division of Depression and Anxiety. He is currently a Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, and the Center Director for the Silvio O. Conte Center for Basic Translational Mental Health Research focused on the neurobiology of and novel treatment targets for depression and anxiety disorders. Starting in 2024, he will be the Founding Director of the Noel Drury, M.D. Institute for Translational Depression Discoveries at the University of California Irvine. This transdisciplinary Institute will pursue a ‘bench-to-bedside’ mission, in which scientific breakthroughs will be translated into faster, better, and more personalized treatments for depression. He will also be a visiting professor at Oxford University.


Dr. Elizabeth Lippard | 2023 Young Investigator Award

Elizabeth (Beth) Lippard, Ph.D., is an assistant professor of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Dell Medical School. Lippard graduated magna cum laude from North Carolina State University with a B.S. in microbiology, a B.A. in chemistry, and a minor in genetics in 2003. She obtained her Ph.D. in neurobiology in 2012 from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Prior to joining the Dell Medical School team, she completed two postdoctoral fellowships in psychiatry and radiology, and biomedical imaging at Yale University. Her research interests focus on the intersection of behavioral and developmental neuroscience. She studies brain-behavior relationships across development, in clinical and typically developing populations, and how genes and environmental stress influence these processes. Specifically, a focus of her research has been on understanding neural systems related to risk, onset, and early disease progression in affective and alcohol use disorders.

See a list of past Gerald L. Klerman Award Winners

DBSA Thanks the 2024 Gerald L. Klerman Sponsor